Summer Book Challenge

bigbooksummer

I’ve joined the Big Book Summer Challenge over on Book by Book. I just finished Uprooted by Naomi Novik (431 pages), and I’ll have a Lit Bit review up soon. I’m trying to decide if I should read Ahab’s Wife by Sena Jeter Naslund (666 pages), or Brandywine by Jack Rowe (394 pages.) I know the latter is a little short, but I need it for WroteTrips. I also need Ahab’s Wife for a presentation, so I’ll have to see how it goes.

I need to read Cop Town by Karin Slaughter for a July book group, and it’s 453 pages, but it’s a paperback.

Right now, I’m well into The Last Dickens by Matthew Pearl, at 383 pages. I felt like reading a mystery, and like novels about books, so I thought that I’d give it a try.

For better or worse, I read really fast, and I read a lot. My local library started their reading challenge at the beginning of June, and I’ve already won all of the individual prizes. I’ve even won the first giveaway. Maybe I’ll go to one of the other county libraries and sign up there so that I can win more prizes.

2 thoughts on “Summer Book Challenge

  1. Welcome to the Big Book Summer Challenge! Sounds like you have some great books to choose from.

    I haven’t turned anything in yet for the library’s summer reading program…I’ve read plenty but have been too busy to write them up and turn them in – I raked in the free books from them last summer 🙂 I always have more books waiting to be read than I can possibly get to, so I pick out books for my husband and son, too.

    I look forward to hearing about your summer reads!

    Sue

    2015 Big Book Summer Challenge

    1. Gail A. Sisolak

      I picked out some books for my Mom this year, since they didn’t have anything I wanted to read. Most of them I’d already read. Do paperback books count for the challenge? I really should read Cop Town next for my book group. It has 453 pages.

Leave a Reply

